About


Marilyn B. Armand dans son atelier à Bedford

BEHIND LE POINT VISIBLE

Le Point visible is high-quality, modern quilts that cradle your daily life. Behind these original creations is your artist-quilter, Marilyn.

Since her earliest childhood, she was surrounded by women who passed on their passion for quilting. Raised by her grandmother and her seamstress aunts, she sewed whenever she could, sewing together all the leftover trimmings she found and practiced the teaching from these inspiring women.

Her family shared their passion for fabric, textures and colours, but it was thanks to quilting specialist France Verrier, of the Women Farmers Circle of Cowansville, Quebec, that Marilyn rediscovered the practice from edges of the history of women in Quebec.

SUSTAINABLE

Quilting is a technique that inspires the creation of tough and sustainable items. Le Point Visible innovates while responding head-on to the environmental challenges related to textiles. The method of assembling and top-stitching three levels of fabric (including the filling) permits the upcycling of fabrics that were originally destined to be thrown out. Le Point Visible creates objects for your everyday that are sustainable, locally-sourced and ecologically responsible.

LOCAL

Designed and fabricated in a workshop in Bedford, Quebec, in the Eastern Townships, each piece is unique. In a spirit of fostering a sense of solidarity in our rural community, Le Point Visibles’ happiness is found through collaborations with neighbouring textile businesses, that have experienced a downturn in recent years, and in creating a circular economy with them.

ÉCORESPONSABLE

The textile industry is one of the most polluting in the world. By upcycling fabrics, Le Point Visible reduces its environmental impact while re-emphasizing the importance of buying local. Made mostly of new, recuperated materials (end of fabric rolls, cuttings, leftovers from designers, etc.) our products generate virtually no waste.

UNIQUE

UNIQUE While working with leftover fabric trimmings and upcycling them with our own hands, each piece is unique. This uniqueness can also inspire you to personalise your product. If interested, don’t hesitate tocontact us!

Le point visible
110 Rue Rivière, loft 212
Bedford, J0J 1A0

To see how it’s all made, visit our Instagram @lepointvisible!

À propos


Marilyn B. Armand dans son atelier à Bedford

DERRIÈRE LE POINT VISIBLE

Le point visible, ce sont des courtepointes modernes de qualité qui bercent votre quotidien. Derrière ces créations originales se trouve l’artiste courtepointière Marilyn.

Depuis son enfance, elle est entourée de femmes qui ont su transmettre leur passion pour la couture. Élevée par sa grand-mère et ses tantes couturières, elle ne manquait pas un instant pour coudre les retailles qu’elle trouvait afin de mettre en pratique les enseignements de ces femmes inspirantes.

La famille lui a transmis, dès un jeune âge la passion du tissu, des textures et des couleurs, mais c’est grâce à France Verrier du Cercle de fermières de Cowansville et spécialiste de la courtepointe, que Marilyn découvrit cette technique traditionnellement pratiqué par les femmes au Québec.

DURABLE

Novatrice des enjeux environnementaux liés au textile, la courtepointe est une technique qui permet de créer des objets résistants et durables. Cette manière d’assembler et de surpiquer trois épaisseurs de textiles (comprenant la bourre) permet de surcycler les tissus voués à être jetés. Le point visible crée des objets du quotidien qui permettent une consommation durable, locale et responsable.

LOCAL

Créées dans un atelier à Bedford dans les Cantons de l’est, chaque pièce unique y est fabriquée. Désirant créer des communautés rurales et solidaires, le bonheur de Le point visible est de collaborer avec des entreprises de textiles avoisinantes permettant la mise sur pied d’une économie circulaire favorisant la valorisation des chutes de l’industrie du textile.

ÉCORESPONSABLE

L’industrie du textile est l’une des plus polluante au monde. En utilisant des tissus surcyclés, Le point visible réduit son impact sur l’environnement et sensibilise sur l’importance de l’achat local. Fabriqués principalement de matières neuves récupérées (fin de rouleaux, coupons, retailles de designers, etc.), les produits permettent de ne générer quasi aucune perte.

UNIQUE

En travaillant de nos mains avec des retailles textiles surcyclées, chaque œuvre est unique. Cette unicité vous permet aussi de personnaliser votre produit. Si cela vous intéresse, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous! 

 

 Pour savoir comment c'est fait, visitez notre Instagram @lepointvisible!